tools & resources

You are working in the arts and are confronted with sexism, (sexual) harassment or power abuse

① What can you do yourself?

The possibility to act on your own behalf depends entirely on the situation. If a person makes you feel uncomfortable or their behaviour is inappropriate, and you feel in a position to address this to the person: do that. You have all the right to address this and put your own limits.

Tell this person it is not ok to talk or behave in the way they do. Explain why this behavior is problematic. Give the person room to reply. Propose it as a chance for change. Communicate clearly what you would like that change to be. Maybe, for example, you simply need an apology and see the person being willing to change?

It is of course possible that the severity of the situation does not allow you to continue working together. Maybe a third person can help in that case.

It is always advised to talk to a colleague you trust. This person can give advice and can support you.

② What can you do if you cannot address the problem by yourself?

While some problems can be solved with a one-on-one conversations, some instances are too severe or complex for that. In those situations you will need to be assisted and supported by an organization. If the situation concerns physical violence contact a doctor. Knowing that most artists work as freelancers and are only temporarily connected to institutions, you might need to evaluate different options that depend on the context you are working in.

If your work is in any way connected to an organization or an institution, it is advised to talk to a person in charge (i.e. project leader, employer, venue director,…). They might have a person within the organisation who is especially assigned to deal with these issues. This can be a confidential person, an prevention advisor specializing in psychosocial wellbeing, or an external service. The coordinates of these persons and services have to be present according to proper work regulations. Temporary co-workers should have received this information and be able to rely on the assistance it provides as well. In these conversations, the person you go to should first listen to your experiences. Then, you will likely discuss together the different options for action.

If none of the above described options are helpful or apply to your situation (e.g. if you are a freelancer, the experience has happened a couple of years ago, you don't trust your employer, ...) you can always contact the Genderkamer of the Flemish Ombuds Service (EN/NL). Nina Callens and Viktor Van der Veken have an ombudsfunction that specifically deals with transgressive behaviour in the field of culture and arts. They will listen to your situation, give your advise or support negotiations and they have a mandate to file an offiial complaint. You can contact that via genderkamer@vlaamseombudsdienst.be. You can also contact ENGAGEMENT through contact@engagementarts.be, where you can talk to one of the certified confidants (EN/NL/FR).

If you are a member of a union you can contact them directly and ask for their advice. Especially in cases of contractual disputes they might be able to help. Unions can function as external mediators and provide juridical advice or support.

③ Do you want to share your experience with a community of artists?

ENGAGEMENT organises monthly Open Meetings. Since covid entered our lives, those meetings are taking place online. They are basically peer-to-peer conversations starting from solidarity, frequented by artists. Together we try, everytime again, to build a space to share and listen, in solidarity. We build that space together. It is not a problem if you have not been to a meeting before. People come and go, the space is open every time again for new people. Registering for this meeting can be done via e-mail: contact@engagementarts.be.

④ Specialized assistance

If the situation concerns physical violence: contact a doctor.

If you prefer to talk anonymously, you can call:

  • 1712 (Dutch-speaking)
  • 0800/98.100 (French-speaking)

Contact an organization that is specialized in helping victims of sexual violence:

You are an employer/organization/institution. How to prevent discrimination, harassment and violence in the professional context?

① Underline that your organization prioritizes a healthy working environment, respectful working relationships, ethical leadership and that your employees practice zero tolerance towards harassment and violence.

Inform all your co-workers about the subject. Avoid taboos and create a culture of openness and transparency. This way you will minimize the risk of victims remaining silent. Invite external organisations and institutions for mandatory workshops on the subject periodically. If you are a director, attend these workshops together with your employees.

③ It is important to create space for discussions without the presence of the people in positions of power. Encourage employees to organize themselves. Engage in open conversations and implement changes where problems arise.

④ Invest in training one or several confidants (trainings are offered by Sociaal Fonds Podiumkunsten).

⑤ Inform yourself of the legal context concerning these issues. Make this information visible to both employees and freelancers you contract. For example, add a paragraph on harassment in all the working contracts. Mention investigation policies and possible penalties or sanctions incurred as a result of transgressions.

⑥ If despite all, harassment occurs, take the complaints seriously and follow the internal procedures of your institution. Make sure your procedures are in line with the law. Give legal advice and provide psychological support when needed. For support and questions, don't hesitate to contact genderkamer@vlaamseombudsdienst.be.

tools & resources

Vous travaillez dans le domaine de l'art et vous êtes confronté.e.s au sexisme, harcèlement (moral, sexuel, etc.), ou abus de pouvoir

① Que vous pouvez faire vous-même ?

Pouvoir agir seul.e dépend entièrement de la situation. Si la personne en question vous met mal à l'aise, si son comportement est déplacé et si vous vous sen-tez en mesure de lui communiquer cela directement: faites-le. Vous avez le droit de le signaler et d'indiquer vos limites.

Dites à cette personne que sa manière d'agir ou de parler est inacceptable. Expliquez-lui pourquoi son comportement est problématique. Donnez-lui du temps pour répondre. Présentez cela comme l'occasion d'un changement. Communiquez clairement ce que vous voulez voir changer. Recevoir des excuses et voir que cette personne souhaite changer sont-ils suffisants pour vous?

Il est bien sûr également possible que la gravité de la situation ne vous permet pas de continuer à travailler ensemble. Peut-être inclure une tierce personne à cette conversation peut aider dans ce cas.

Nous vous encourageons à parler avec un.e collègue de confiance au cours de ce processus. Cette personne peut vous conseiller et vous soutenir.

② Que vous pouvez faire si vous ne pouvez pas faire face ce problème vous-même?

Certains problèmes peuvent être résolus à travers un échange en tête-à-tête, cependant d'autres cas sont trop graves ou complexes pour agir seul.e et requièrent l’aide et le soutien d'une organisation. S'il s'agit de violence physique il faut tout d’abord consulter un.e médecin. Sachant que beaucoup d'artistes travaillent en indépendants et sont engagé.e.s par des institutions seulement pour de courtes durées, il faudra évaluer différentes options en fonction du contexte de travail.

Si votre travail est lié à une organisation ou institution, il est conseillé de parler avec la personne responsable (chef.fe du projet, employeur.euse, directeur.trice de ce lieu, etc). Il y a certainement une personne préposée à ce type de questions. Il peut s'agir d'une personne de confiance, un.e conseiller.ère spécialisé.e en pré-vention des transgressions psychosociales ou d'un service extérieur. Il est écrit dans le code du travail que les coordonnées de ces personnes ou services doivent être disponibles. Les travailleurs temporaires doivent également recevoir ces informations et pouvoir profiter des aides en question. Lors de ces échanges la personne que vous rencontrez doit commencer par vous écouter. Ensuite, vous pouvez ensemble élaborer un plan d'action.

Si aucune des options ci-dessus ne vous aide (par exemple, si vous êtes indépendant.e, votre expérience date de quelques années, vous ne faites pas confiance à votre employeur, ...) vous pouvez toujours contacter la Genderkamer du Service de médiation flamand (NL/EN). Nina Callens et Viktor Van der Veken remplissent une fonction d'ombuds spécialisée et sont chargés de lutter contre les comportements transfrontaliers dans le secteur de l'art et de la culture. I.e.lles écouteront votre expérience, vous conseilleront et auront également le mandat de déposer une plainte officielle. Vous pouvez les contacter par genderkamer@vlaamseombudsdienst.be. Vous pouvez également contacter ENGAGEMENT et parler avec un.e de nos confident.e.s certifié.e.s via l'adresse e-mail générale: contact@engagementarts.be (FR/EN/NL).

Si vous êtes membre d'un syndicat vous pouvez le contacter directement et demander conseil, surtout lorsqu'il s'agit de litiges contractuels, ils peuvent aider. Les syndicats peuvent agir comme médiateurs externes et vous fournir une aide et un soutien juridiques.

③ Vous souhaitez partager votre expérience avec une communauté d'artistes?

ENGAGEMENT organise chaque mois des Open Meetings (en anglais). Depuis le début du covid, ces réunions sont en ligne. Ce meetings sont des conversations peer-to-peer, basées sur la solidarité, auxquelles participent des artistes. Ensemble, nous essayons, à chaque fois, de créer un lieu de partage et d'écoute, en solidarité. Nous construisons ce lieu ensemble. Ce n'est pas un problème si vous n'êtes jamais venu à une réunion auparavant. Les gens vont et viennent, l'espace est toujours ouvert à de nouvelles personnes. Vous pouvez toujours vous inscrire à une réunion via notre adresse email: contact@engagementarts.be.

④ Assistance spécialisée

Si la situation a à voir avec une violence physique il faut d’abord consulter un.e médecin.

  • Si vous vous préférez parler anonymement, appelez le 0800/98.100 (francophone).

Contactez une organisation spécialisée dans l'aide aux victimes de harcèlement sexuel et de violence physique:

QUE PEUT-ON ENTREPRENDRE EN TANT QU’EMPLOYEUR.EUSE/ORGANISATION POUR PREVENIR ET EMPECHER LA DISCRIMINATION, LE HARCELEMENT OU LA VIOLENCE DANS LE CONTEXTE PROFESSIONNEL ?

① Soulignez que votre organisation vise un environnement de travail sain, des relations respectueuses, un leadership éthique et que vos employé.e.s pratiquent une tolérance zéro envers le harcèlement et la violence.

Informez tou.te.s vos collègues de ce sujet. Evitez de créer des tabous et cultivez la transparence. Cela minimisera le risque de voir des victimes rester silencieuses. Invitez régulièrement des organisations externes et des institutions pour des workshops obligatoires sur le thème. Si vous êtes directeur.trice, prenez part à ces workshops avec vos employé.e.s.

③ Il est important de créer un espace de discussion sans la présence de personnes occupant une position de pouvoir. Encouragez vos employé.e.s à s'organiser de manière autonome. Lancez des conversations ouvertes et in-troduisez les changements là où surgissent des problèmes.

④ Investissement dans la formation de plusieurs personnes de confiance (les formations sont organisées par Sociaal Fonds voor de Podiumkunsten en néerlandais).

⑤ Informez-vous de la législation concernant ces problèmes. Rendez ces informations visibles à vos employé.e.s ainsi qu'aux travailleur.euse.s indé-pendant.e.s que vous engagez. Par exemple : ajoutez un paragraphe con-cernant le harcèlement dans tous vos contrats. Mentionnez les politiques d'enquête et les pénalités encourues en cas de transgression.

⑥ Si malgré tout, un cas de harcèlement se produisait, prenez les plaintes au sérieux et suivez les procédures internes de votre institu-tion. Assurez-vous de la légalité de ces procédures. Apportez une aide juridique et un soutien psychologique lorsque cela est néces-saire. Pour plus d'informations sur les procédures légales, contactez genderkamer@vlaamseombudsdienst.be.