info

ENGAGEMENT is an artist-led movement tackling sexual harassment, sexism and abuse of power in the Belgian arts field.

The movement was formed in the wake of #MeToo (2017) after countless instances of sexual harassment came to light in the Belgian dance community. Since then, ENGAGEMENT has transformed into an organised platform active across all artistic disciplines, doing work in the professional as well as the educational sphere.

As a low-threshold, peer-to-peer initiative, ENGAGEMENT offers support to individuals and communities facing transgressive behaviour, discrimination and/or unfair practices in the arts. We are continuously in conversation with organisations wanting to create safer and more inclusive working environments.

ENGAGEMENT has also taken an active role in the initiative against harassment launched by the Flemish Department of Culture, Youth and Media in 2018.

In our work, we approach sexual harassment and gender-based violence through the lens of intersectional feminism. ENGAGEMENT stands in solidarity with everyone fighting sexism, racism, ableism, and discrimination based on sexual orientation or gender identity and expression.

contact

For more information or to sign the open call for ENGAGEMENT, please send an email to contact@engagementarts.be.

Contact persons & Coordinators

Engagement Brussels: Anneleen Lemmens and Ilse Ghekiere

Engagement Gent: Melissa Mabesoone

info

ENGAGEMENT est un mouvement d’artistes oeuvrant à l’abolition du harcèlement sexuel, du sexisme et de l’abus de pouvoir dans le secteur artistique belge.

Le mouvement s’est formé dans le sillage #MeToo (2017) suite aux innombrables cas de harcèlement sexuel révélés au sein de la Danse belge. ENGAGEMENT s’est depuis développé en tant que plateforme active pour toutes disciplines artistiques confondues, tant dans la sphère professionnelle que celle de l’éducation artistique.

En tant qu’initiative portée par des pairs, ENGAGEMENT apporte un soutien aux personnes et communautés confrontées aux répercussions dommageables causées par les comportements transgressifs, la discrimination et/ou les pratiques abusives dans le domaine des arts. Nous sommes également en dialogue avec les organisations qui souhaitent créer un environnement de travail plus sûr et plus inclusif.

ENGAGEMENT a également joué un rôle actif au sein de l’action contre le harcèlement lancé en 2018 par le Département de la Culture, la Jeunesse et les Médias de la communauté flamande.

Nous traitons le harcèlement sexuel et les violences basées sur le genre à travers une approche féministe intersectionnelle. ENGAGEMENT est solidaire avec toute personne luttant contre le sexisme, le racisme, les discrimination de capacité physique, orientation sexuelle, d’identité ou expression de genre.

contact

Pour plus d’information ou pour signer l’appel à ENGAGEMENT, merci d’envoyer un email à contact@engagementarts.be.

Personnes de contact & Coordinatrices

Engagement Bruxelles: Anneleen Lemmens et Ilse Ghekiere

Engagement Gand: Melissa Mabesoone